You are here

How we Work

What are the USDA Climate Hubs? 

USDA’s Climate Hubs are a unique collaboration of agencies across USDA. Agencies supporting the Hubs include the Agricultural Research Service, Natural Resources Conservation Service, National Institute of Food and Agriculture, Forest Service, Farm Service Agency, Risk Management Agency, Rural Development, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, and the Climate Change Program Office. Regional USDA Hubs are physically hosted by the Forest Service and the Agricultural Research Service in ten locations across the U.S. Greenleaders DC recently asked this question, and Randy Johnson answered this and other questions about the Hubs in the video below.

National Coordination

At the National level, USDA’s Climate Hubs Executive Committee works to guide, focus and facilitate resources needed within USDA to implement the Climate Hubs. The Committee is made up of senior leaders of the Agencies involved.

A National Leader is selected from the Agricultural Research Service, Forest Service, or Natural Resources Conservation Service. This leader coordinates the efforts of the Regional Hub Leaders and serves as the Chair of the Executive Committee for two years.

The Executive Committee Vice-Chair is a representative from USDA’s Climate Change Program Office.

Regional Coordination

The Leaders of all the Hubs and Sub-Hubs, along with the National Leader, regularly convene a “Regional Leaders Forum.” This forum allows the Leaders to share work plans and ensures the Hubs collaborate and coordinate activities. It also allows the National Leader to learn about Regional Hubs activities and provide updates on these activities to the Executive Committee.